

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF PUBLIC UTILITIES 120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, A1A 5B2

E:Mail: ctown@nf.aibn.com

2022-05-19

Hon. Ricky Oram Mayor, Town of Charlottetown (Labrador) P.O. Box 151 Charlottetown, NL A0K 5Y0

Dear Mr. Oram:

Re: Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro - 2021 Capital Budget Supplemental Application Approval of the Construction of Phase 1 of Hydro's Long-term Supply Plan for Southern Labrador - Response to Letter Dated April 11, 2022

We acknowledge receipt of your correspondence dated April 11, 2022 and thank you for expressing your views on this important matter for your region.

Following receipt of your letter the Board received correspondence from Hydro asking for a reconsideration of the Board's determination that further information is required with respect to this matter. On May 16, 2022 the Board confirmed its determination and advised that it would follow up with respect to the impacts of this determination on the continued provision of reliable service in the Town of Charlottetown and in Pinsent's Arm. A copy of this correspondence is attached for your reference.

The Board takes very seriously the issues you raise in your correspondence and shares your concerns in relation to the continued access to a safe, reliable power supply in the Town of Charlottetown and in Pinsent's Arm. It was for that reason the Board wrote Hydro on April 7, 2022 to require an update on the steps that Hydro has taken in this regard. Following the Board's May 16, 2022 determination Hydro was asked again to confirm that all reasonable steps have been taken for the continued provision of safe and reliable service in the Town of Charlottetown and in Pinsent's Arm while this matter is ongoing. A copy of this correspondence is attached.

The Board will continue to keep you informed as this matter proceeds.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the Board Legal Counsel, Ms. Jacqui Glynn, by email jglynn@pub.nl.ca or by telephone 709-726-6781.

Yours truly,

do

Cheryl Blundon Board Secretary

CB/cj

ecc Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro

Shirley Walsh, E-mail: shirleywalsh@nlh.nl.ca NLH Regulatory, E-mail: NLHRegulatory@nlh.nl.ca <u>Newfoundland Power Inc.</u> Dominic Foley, E-mail: dfoley@newfoundlandpower.com NP Regulatory, E-mail: regulatory@newfoundlandpower.com <u>Labrador Interconnected Group</u> Senwung Luk, E-mail: sluk@oktlaw.com Josh Favel, E-mail: jfavel@oktlaw.com

Consumer Advocate

Dennis Browne, Q.C., E-mail: dbrowne@bfma-law.com Stephen Fitzgerald, E-mail: sfitzgerald@bfma-law.com Sarah Fitzgerald, E-mail: sarahfitzgerald@bfma-law.com Bernice Bailey, E-mail: bbailey@bfma-law.com

Industrial Customer Group

Paul Coxworthy, E-mail: pcoxworthy@stewartmckelvey.com Dean Porter, E-mail: dporter@poolealthouse.ca Denis Fleming, E-mail: dfleming@coxandpalmer.com